We all have friends that get a little over zealous with event or app invites. Or use an app that shares their activity on other social networks with Facebook resulting in a complete SPAMMING of your news feed. (This one really bugs me) Luckily, this happens to Zuckerburg too and as a result, Facebook has some options when it comes to blocking unwanted content.
To change these settings click on the “Lock & List” icon in the upper right of your Facebook page and then select, “See More Settings“.
Once there click on the left side navigation menu where it says, “Blocking“. Below is a rundown of what each of the options do.
Manage Blocking Settings
When you add friends to your Restricted list they can only see the information and posts that you make public. Facebook does not notify your friends when you add them to your Restricted list.
Once you block someone, that person can no longer be your friend on Facebook or interact with you (except within apps and games you both use and groups you are both a member of).
Block app invites
Once you block app invites from someone, you’ll automatically ignore future app requests from that friend. To block invites from a specific friend, click the “Ignore All Invites From This Friend” link under your latest request.
Block event invites
Once you block event invites from someone, you’ll automatically ignore future event requests from that friend.
Once you block an app, it can no longer contact you or get non-public information about you through Facebook.
The Less Drama Method
Blocking someone on Facebook is pretty extreme and if that unfortunate blocked individual ever tries to interact with you it will become pretty apparent you are no longer, “Facebook Official”. (You won’t even show up in their search results)
For some this could lead to drama in the real world and many decide simply to put up with the annoying Facebook friend simply to avoid the drama. But there is a better way! Simply go to one of the annoyingly annoying posts and select “Unfollow So and So” from the hidden drop-down in the upper right of the post.
This will prevent their posts from appearing in your feed but will still allow them to see YOU on Facebook and believe that you are still best buds. Winning!
Have these settings changed your life and made your Facebook experience more enjoyable? Or do they come short in preventing your friends most annoying Facebook behaviors? Let us know in the comments.